New Jersey’s Governor and legislative leaders have agreed on legislation to raise New Jersey’s minimum wage to $15/hour for the majority of workers by 2024, joining the growing movement of states to commit to significantly increase the minimum wage. If passed, the law would go into effect on July 2019, with the first minimum wage hike to $10/hour, with annual increases thereafter. Employers in the state should begin their planning now to be ready to raise wages where legally required, but also to consider the domino effect this will have, whereby increases may be needed in order to keep career levels from compressing and maintaining the internal hierarchy. Salary structures will also need to be reviewed to ensure that that no salary range minimum is below the new $10/hour threshold, as well as potential grade changes resulting from the internal hierarchy realignment.